Founding Team and
Executive Management

Board of Directors

Advisory Board


Founding Team

Greg Schmergel
Co-founder, President & CEO.  Greg Schmergel was most recently Senior Vice
President, Corporate Strategy for About, Inc., the 5th largest Web property. Previously he was President and CEO of, Inc. Greg founded Expert Central in November 1998 to provide consumers and small businesses with access to thousands of experts to use as an online resource for important questions on a wide variety of topics. He also served as Chairman of the Board. ExpertCentral was acquired by About, the leading network of comprehensive vertical sites for users and marketers, in January of 2000 (now part of Primedia, NYSE: PRM). Prior to forming, Greg served as Case Team Leader for Bain & Company where he led consultant teams working on critical strategy and implementation issues for Fortune 1000 companies. His earlier experience includes senior positions at TowerGroup, which he helped start, and the Ernst & Young Center for Information Technology & Strategy. Reuters acquired TowerGroup in November 1999. Greg also served as a Summer Associate at Booz*Allen & Hamilton, Inc. Greg stays active in supporting entrepreneurship at Harvard, MIT, and throughout Boston, including being a guest speaker at entrepreneurial classes and groups and a judge for the MIT $50K Entrepreneurship Competition. He also serves on the Advisory Board of the NanoBusiness Alliance and on the Board of the Massachusetts Technology Leadership Council, the largest technology business association in the region. Greg graduated magna cum laude from Harvard University and earned an MBA from the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration.

Greg was selected as the 2006 Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award winner in New England, in the emerging technology category.   The Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year awards program honors entrepreneurs who have demonstrated excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance, and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. 

Dr. Thomas Rueckes
Co-founder and Chief Technology Officer.
  Thomas Rueckes, Ph.D. is Co-founder and Chief Technology Officer of Nantero where he directs engineering, development and research activities in CNT chemistry, process integration, circuit design, device, product and test engineering. He is the inventor of the NRAM™ carbon nanotube memory concept and co-founded Nantero to commercialize this invention in 2001. He is inventor on 163 granted patents with more than 160 patents pending. He earned his Ph.D. in Chemistry from Harvard University in 2001.

Dr. Brent M. Segal
Co-founder (worked at Nantero 2001-2008).
  Brent has become a leading authority on the strategic and tactical aspects of building and managing a large nanotechnology-based intellectual property portfolio, through his work in overseeing Nantero’s 100+ patent applications, of which over 45 have been granted. He is often asked to speak at industry events on the topic. Brent also pioneered the development of Nantero's Government Business Unit, which grew into a leading provider of carbon nanotube-based products and services to the US Government and then was acquired by Lockheed Martin in 2008. Brent previously ran laboratory operations at Metaprobe LLC, where he was a Research Chemist. He was previously a Research Associate at Nycomed Salutar, Inc., and received his PhD in Chemistry from Harvard University. He has published frequently in a variety of prestigious academic journals. He is Chairman of the Industrial Advisory Board of the Center for High-rate Nanomanufacturing (CHN) at Northeastern University, University of Massachusetts at Lowell and University of New Hampshire. He is frequently invited to speak at conferences and seminars such as COMDEX, NANOTECH 2006/7 and the annual National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI). He is a graduate of Reed College, with a degree in Biochemistry

Executive Management
HomeAbout UsProductsContact UsPartnershipsPublications and PressJob Openings

Sohrab Kianian
Vice President, Licensing and Business Development.
Sohrab was previously the Vice President, Technology Licensing and Business Development for Silicon Storage Technology, Inc. (SST), where he was one of the first employees. Sohrab was responsible for starting and leading SST’s licensing business. SST became a leading licensor of embedded nonvolatile memory, with the following licensees: 1st Silicon (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd., Freescale Semiconductor, Inc., Grace Semiconductor Manufacturing Corporation (Grace), IBM, National Semiconductor Corporation, NEC Corporation, Oki Electric Industry Co. Ltd., Powerchip Semiconductor Corp., Samsung Electronics Co. Ltd., SANYO Electric Co., Ltd., Seiko Epson Corp., Shanghai Hua Hong NEC Electronics Co., Ltd., Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Co. Ltd. (TSMC), Toshiba Corporation, Vanguard International Semiconductor Corporation and Winbond Electronics Corp. He was also in charge of litigation and enforcement of licensing agreements. From 1991-1997, he was Senior Manager, Device Physics at SST. From 1989-1990, he was a Senior Device Engineer at Altera, and before that he was a Senior Device Engineer at Xicor Corporation, working on EEPROM. He holds a PhD in Electrical Engineering from UCLA, and has eighteen issued US patents in the field of nonvolatile memory.

Robert O. Lindefjeld
General Counsel and Chief Intellectual Property Counsel.
Robert was previously a Partner at Jones Day, where he was in charge of the Pittsburgh office Intellectual Property Group. He has been lead counsel and second-chair in numerous IP infringement matters in state and federal district court, arbitration, and the International Trade Commission in a wide variety of technologies including computer chips. He has also been Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Before that he was a Law Clerk to The Honorable Joseph F. Weis, Jr. of the US Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit. He holds a JD from Widener University School of Law, where he was Editor-in-Chief of the Law Review. He holds a BS in Biology from Norwich University, Military College of Vermont, and thereafter served as a Lieutenant in the United States Army Infantry. He is a Registered Patent Attorney and has been listed in The Best Lawyers in America and Chambers USA, America's Best Lawyers for Business, Pennsylvania Super Lawyers and Massachusetts Super Lawyers. He is the Immediate Past Chairman of the American Bar Association Section of Intellectual Property Law, the world's largest organization of IP professionals, with a wide range of responsibilities including helping formulate our country's national policy in the area of patents, trademarks, and copyrights before the U.S. Congress, the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, the U.S. Copyright Office, and our nation's courts. He serves as a member of the Local Patent Rules Committee for the US District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania and as a "Master" for the Q. Todd Dickinson American Inn of Court. Other professional activities include his service as the current Vice-Chairman of the Amicus Committee of the American IP Law Association (AIPLA), the committee charged with making recommendations on amicus briefs to be filed in intellectual property cases pending before the US Supreme Court and the US Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and the Regional Federal Courts of Appeal throughout the United States. He is a Past Chairman of the AIPLA's Licensing and Management of IP Assets Committee, the substantive committee tasked with monitoring legal developments in the area of patent licensing.

back to top